Skip to content
Hotspot Shield logo

Hotspot Shield

hotspotshield.com

US VPN owned by Point Wild, built around the proprietary Hydra protocol, with a 500 MB daily free plan.

Operator based in
United States
Founded
2008
Devices at once
10

What you'll pay

In USD, from Hotspot Shield's own pricing page, checked 2026-10-17.

Month to month

$12.99

per month, cancel any time

Cheapest plan, 12 months

$7.99/mo

$95.88 paid upfront

Then renews at

$95.99

per year

First 3 years, if you keep it

$287.86

45-day money-back

Free plan:
500 MB/day, 1 device, ~2 Mbps, 1 US location.
About the renewal:
Checkout terms: 'an autorenewing subscription that will renew annually at $95.99'. A special offer charges $29.00 for the first year.

Audits

Independent checks of the provider's claims, newest first.

  1. 2023 Aon

    Scope: no-logs. Report for customers only.

    Technical review of logging claims; summary public, full report limited. Not a full infrastructure audit.

    • Research summary (no single link)

Incidents

Breaches, seizures and court cases on record.

  1. 2017

    Center for Democracy & Technology filed an FTC complaint over tracking and ad practices.

    • Research summary (no single link)
  2. 2018

    Data-leak reports (pre-Pango/Aura era).

    • Research summary (no single link)

Apps and devices

10 devices at once.

  • WindowsYesYes
  • macOSYesYes
  • LinuxCommand line onlyPartly
  • iOSYesYes
  • AndroidYesYes
  • Apple TVNoNo
  • Fire TVYesYes
  • Android TVYesYes
  • RouterManual setupPartly
  • Browser extensionProxy onlyPartly

Privacy and features

  • Sign up without emailNoNo
  • Pay with cashNoNo
  • Pay with MoneroNot statedNot stated
  • WireGuardYesYes
  • OpenVPNYesYes
  • Kill switchYesYes
  • Split tunnelingYesYes
  • Multi-hopNoNo
  • Port forwardingNoNo
  • ObfuscationYesYes
  • P2P allowedNot statedNot stated
  • Says it works in ChinaDoesn't claim itDoesn't claim it