
ExpressVPN
expressvpn.comBritish Virgin Islands-based VPN owned by Kape Technologies since 2021, using its own Lightway protocol and RAM-only TrustedServer infrastructure.
- Owner
- Kape Technologies
- Operator based in
- British Virgin Islands
- Founded
- 2009
- Devices at once
- 10
What you'll pay
In USD, from ExpressVPN's own pricing page, checked 2026-10-17.
Month to month
Not stated
per month, cancel any time
Cheapest plan, 28 months
$2.99/mo
$83.72 paid upfront
Then renews at
$99.95
per year
First 3 years, if you keep it
$183.67
30-day money-back
- Free plan:
- No free plan.
- About the renewal:
- Pricing page: '$83.72 for the first 28 Months. Then autorenews at $99.95 annually.' (Basic).
Audits
Independent checks of the provider's claims, newest first.
2024 Cure53
Scope: security. Report is public.
Fourth Cure53 audit of the Lightway protocol (2024), full report public. The Cure53 reports dated 2026 on ExpressVPN's trust page cover other products (ExpressMailGuard, Identity Defender, EventVPN), not the VPN apps.
2025 KPMG
Scope: no-logs. Report is public.
ISAE (UK) 3000 on TrustedServer and privacy-policy claims as of 28 Feb 2025. ExpressVPN: 'The full assessment report is available for all'; it opens after accepting KPMG's terms.
Incidents
Breaches, seizures and court cases on record.
2017
Turkish authorities seized a server; ExpressVPN said no usable user data was recovered.
- Research summary (no single link)
Apps and devices
10 devices at once.
- WindowsYesYes
- macOSYesYes
- LinuxDesktop appYes
- iOSYesYes
- AndroidYesYes
- Apple TVYesYes
- Fire TVYesYes
- Android TVYesYes
- RouterRouter appYes
- Browser extensionProxy onlyPartly
Privacy and features
- Sign up without emailNoNo
- Pay with cashNoNo
- Pay with MoneroNot statedNot stated
- WireGuardYesYes
- OpenVPNYesYes
- Kill switchYesYes
- Split tunnelingYesYes
- Multi-hopNoNo
- Port forwardingNoNo
- ObfuscationYesYes
- P2P allowedAll serversAll servers
- Says it works in ChinaYesYes